Ankang University

No ratings yet


Ankang University (AKU) is a comprehensive four-year undergraduate state university administered by the Shaanxi Provincial Government. The origin of AKU can be traced back to the Ankang University of 1958, which was suspended in 1963 because of national economic difficulties. In 1978 it was reopened as a branch school of Shaanxi Normal University, and in 1984 it was renamed “Ankang Teacher’s College” with the approval of the Shaanxi Provincial Government. In 2004, the incorporation of Ankang Education Institute and Ankang Agricultural School into Ankang Teacher's College officially formed AKU. In February 2006, with the authorization of the Ministry of Education of the People’s Republic of China (PRC), it was approved as an undergraduate university. AKU is located in Ankang City of Shaanxi Province, sometimes called “the back-garden of Xi’an”; the city boasts an extraordinary ecological and geographical environment, including the nearby Tsinling Mountains, Mt. Bashan and the Hanjiang River. AKU covers an area about 600,000 square meters. The present AKU consists of twelve departments encompassing 52 majors grouped under the heading of Mathematics, Electronic and Information Engineering, Chemistry and Chemical Engineering, Chinese, Foreign Languages, Politics and History, Education and Science, Arts, Economics and Management, Physical Education, Agriculture and Life Sciences and Adult Education. The university has been focusing on developing research projects related to such aspects of the local environment as the cultural study of the Hanjiang River Valley, the protection and management of natural resources in the Tsinling Mountains and Mt Bashan, and local Seri cultural research and development.

No Courses, Classes and Workshop added on this Institution.